Calendar of Events

Kids

 

 

Children’s & Youth

Programs


 

 

September is Library Card Sign-up Month:

Name That Fish Contest!

 
  Celebrate with us by encouraging people you know to get a library card.  In addition, we’ll be having a contest to NAME THAT FISH (on our library cards)!  The winning name will be posted, and credit will be given to the person who came up with the winning name.  To submit an entry, just ask at the circulation desk for a NAME THAT FISH coloring page and turn it in by Sept 29th.
 

Summer Reading  
 

Thank you all for Reading!

 
Congratulations to all of our 0-8yr old readers!  If you didn’t make it to our Summer Reading Finale Party, please see Mr. Alex to get your certificate & prizes.
 
 
Congratulations to our Top 3 Readers in the 9-12yr old category:
1st: Shiana Holmes
2nd: Rachel Pitt
3rd: Josh Garcia.
 
Together our 9-12yr olds read 11,255 pages this summer!  A point is 1 page with all writing on it.  For Picture Books or graphic novels, each page counts as 1/2 a point.  
 
 

September Youth Special Events!


Family Events:


 

Family Inventions!

Sat, September 2, 1 – 2:30pm

Littlebits

 

Build inventions using our electronics and robotics toys.

  All ages are welcome!  We’ll have supplies to help you invent.  We’ll have LittleBits, as well as cardboard, Popsicle sticks, hot glue, regular glue, tape, and other supplies available for you to create. 

  Parental supervision is required as some of the activities (hot glue guns) may not be appropriate for all ages.

  Also new for this session: We have acquired last year’s FIRST LEGO League challenges & playing board so you can see what the FIRST LEGO League is all about.
 

 
 

Safe Kid’s Websites

Sat, September 23, 1-2:30pm

Internet-Safety

  Come out and learn about websites made for kids which are safe, and those which are not safe.  Bring your favorites & share!  We’ll discuss internet safety and what to watch out for.
  We will have a list of kid safe educational websites, apps, and YouTube channels that have lots of good content for children.

  This event will take place upstairs, using the computers by the circulation desk from 1-2:30pm
 
Downstairs in the library, the Friends of the Library will be holding the FALL BOOK SALE from 9-4 pm.
 

 
 

 
Battle of the Books 
is September 16th 9-4pm
at Dutchess Community College
See below for our Meeting Schedule
 
The Town of Esopus Library is competing in the Mid-Hudson Library System (MHLS)
Battle of the Books this summer.

Our next meetings are the following Wednesdays from 6-7pm:
Sept 6– Mock Battle with Kingston (at Esopus library)
Sept 13– Last Battle Practice!
The Battle occurs on Saturday, Sept 16th, throughout the day from 9-4pm at Dutchess Community College which is located at: 53 Pendell Rd. Poughkeepsie. Anybody can watch for free.
 Please feel free to contact Mr. Alex Ferguson if you’re interested in the Battle of the Books.  You can ask for him at the library, or email him at mralexstorytime@gmail.com.

Many Thanks!

 
Storytime for 0-3 yr olds
Tuesdays 10:30-11:30 am
 
   Interactive time with the parents and kids. We’ll read stories, play, sing songs, feed the fish (weather permitting), visit the garden (weather permitting), and have a musical parade around the library led by Mr. Alex and his purple trombone.
 

 
 
Little Brainstormers 
for 3-5yr olds
Fridays 10:30-11:30 am
 
 
  Little Brainstormers is our weekly story time followed by a STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, and Math) activity.
 
  Sing songs, read books, feed the fish, water the garden, play with science experiments, and parade around the library with Mr. Alex!
 
Sep 1 – Name That Fish
Sep 8 – Wildlife
Sep 15 – Pirates
Sep 22 – First Day of Autumn
Sept 29 – Trees

 

 

 

 
STEAM Story Hour
for 5-8 yr olds
Fridays 4-5 pm
 
 
  STEAM Story Hour will continue. We will read a book or two followed by a STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, and Math) activity.
 
  We read, sing, play, and have fun!  Come on out and join us.
 
Sep 1 – Pond Ecology
Sep 8 – Weather 
Sep 15 – Exploding Treasure Chests
Sep 22 – Equinox (upstairs)
Sep 29 – Leaves

 

 

 

 
Tween Night (9-12 yr olds)
Tuesdays 4-5 pm
Join us for great fun!  Tween Night is a safe place to do some fun activities.

Our schedule this month is:

 

MohonkFirstWeatherSlip

Sept 5 –   Weather & Wildlife Logbook
 

Sept 12 – Wii Video Games
 
 
 
Sept 19 –  Talk Like a Pirate Day:  Eye Patches, 
Flags, and Exploding Treasure Chests!
 
 
 
 
Sept 26 – Make your own Hot Chocolate Mix
 
 

 

Follow us on our Facebook Kids Page!

 

 FacebookButton

 

Click here for our Youtube Channel!

 


 

Kid-Friendly Sites!

KIDS-PORT-BUTTON Looking for something to do? This site is filled with fun games, homework help, Hudson Valley Family Fun, and making a difference in your community!

 

Tumble Books animated button

Listen, read, and play online! This site has e-books for kids! Tumblebooks will read your book to you or you can read it on your own! Stories are followed by games or puzzles!

 

brainpop_logoContact us for your login and password! Brainpop provides homework help with Science, Math, English, Health, and Technology!

 

Stuttering Foundation

The Stuttering Foundation provides free online resources, services and support to those who stutter and their families, as well as support for research into the causes of stuttering. In Spanish, too!

 

  • Library Catalog

    Check the catalog for books, movies and more!

    Library Hours

    Calendar of Events

    See what’s happening at the Library

    Friends of the Library

    Come Grow With Us!

    Audio Books & E-books

    Download free audio and ebooks

    Ebooks

    NEW! You may choose a 7, 14 or 21 day loan period for e-books.

    Tumble Books logo

    Tumblebooks will read your book to you or you can read it on your own! Stories are followed by games or puzzles! Click HERE to read online children’s books.

     Free Online Magazines!LY5045b_RBd_magazine_rotator

    You will need to create an account to view a wide variety of magazines!

     

     

    Free Online Comics
    unnamed

     

     

     You will need to create an account to read online comics, if you don’t already have an account to read online magazines. 

     Consumer Reports 

    ConsumerReports.org_button_100x50

     

     

     

    Click on the button above, then click on ConsumerReports.org which will direct you to the website.

    Watch Free Concerts

    QelloLogo_NewQ_long_black

     

    You will need to create an account to view recorded concerts, if you don’t already have an account to read online magazines. 

    Documents

    Nuwav Legal Documents

    If you need to create a simple, legal document, click on the link above to access the Ulster County Library portal which is offering access to this FREE online service.

    Sign up for our monthly e-newsletter!

    e-newletter

     Renewing Online

    Learn how to renew your items yourself by clicking the link above…

    or join LIBRARY ELF:

    Library Elf

    Do you have difficulty remembering when your library materials are due? Does your family have many library cards and take out lots of wonderful items all at once? 

    Perhaps Library Elf can help you! This program will send you email notices before you have items due and remind you of overdue fines. When you sign up, you will have access to the Premium Subscription for a limited amount of time, then it will revert to the Basic Subscription. If you prefer the Premium version, there is a fee for that version.  Click HERE or click on the logo above. 

    ancestry2The Town of Esopus Library now offers patron access to the genealogy website, Ancestry.com. To access the site, you MUST be in the library. If you have your own laptop or device, you may use the library’s WiFi to access the site, or you may use one of the library’s public computers.  Once you are in the library, please click HERE to get started. 

    6250-2

     

    Esopus Library Weather Station 

    We have installed a weather station on the library property which is taking weather data as you read this message! Click on the link above for the most recent information!

    Reader’s Choice Book Club

    Group meets to discuss books on the first Thursday of each month at 7 PM

    Our next meeting will be on October 5th

    Currently reading:

    Lilac Girls  by Martha Hall Kelly

    lilac girls
    “NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.” – Amazon

    Ongoing Programs

    Mah Jongg:  Wednesdays at 2:00 pm 
    Mah Jongg is a game that is played 4 to a group.  It is similar to the card game “Rummy”, except used small ceramic tiles, instead of cards. This group is for the beginner or advanced player.

    Amateur Guitar Group: Mondays at 3:30 pm
    This group plays well known, popular songs. Bring your own guitar and join in the fun.

    Needlework Group–Mondays at 1:00 pm
    The Needlework Group is comprised of knitters, crocheters, rug hookers, stitchers of all types. Membership is free, and anyone can casually drop in whenever they like. All skill levels are represented, and if a beginner needs help, we will try our best to help them. We also have a nice supply of yarn and needles for those who don’t yet have supplies but would like to give knitting or crocheting a try!

    Esopus Artist Group – Tuesdays from 1 –3:30pm                                   Everyone is welcome to join this ongoing session of art making. Whether you would like to use charcoal, watercolors, oil paint, acrylics, fingerpaint or pastels…whatever medium you prefer is what the artist group is about. We meet year round in comfortable and friendly surroundings. Please bring your own supplies.

    Esopus Stitchers–Wednesdays at 12:30 pm – except for the first Wednesday of the month.
    Cross-stitch, needlepoint, surface embroidery, crewel… whatever! Always wanted to try embroidery? We’ll help you get started with fabric, floss, needles, patterns, etc. Or, bring your current project and come stitch with us!

    Ulster County Photography Club–Second Wednesday of the month at 6:30pm
    Photographers of all ages and skill levels are welcome to join this group. Monthly meetings include presentations, member competitions, and the sharing of information. Please check out our page for more details.

    Writing Group / Writer’s Write! – Every other Saturday – please check here for dates. This writing group will offer practice exercises to improve writing technique, and the opportunity to share work-in-progress for feedback. It is a supportive environment, in which listeners respond positively and affirmatively to one another. By doing so, participants will develop a deep understanding of those elements of their work that are effective and powerful, becoming better writers in the process.

    What is Your Library Worth?

    Find out just how much your free library card can save you!

    Contact the Library

    Questions, comments, suggestions…please email at:

    esopuslibrary.mail@gmail.com

     

     

  • 128 Canal Street • P.O. Box 1167 • Port Ewen, NY 12466 • (845) 338-5580 • FAX (845) 338-5583